Quilts of Denmark


Had a very busy week. First I was off to Ailsa Craig for the Quilts of Denmark show. Lovely show as always. Took the time to watch some of the demos. Great info, great products, all squeezed into just under a half hour. shopping in the vendor market I found a great deal on batiks from Cynthia of Cherished Pieces, $10 a meter since I need them for a class, I picked up a few. While I was paying a Danish lady, Elisabeth, asked me if I would share it with her, I said of course, and told her she would have to put me up when I come visit her. We had a lovely chat and she showed me her quilts in the show.

The next day I took a class with Karin Ostergaard – 3D Treasures from the Sea. Learned a lot of new techniques for embellishment. I finished my background fairly quickly when I found the perfect piece of batik I wanted to highlight. We couldn’t add our embellishments till background was quilted. So the organizing ladies got together and searched for some batting. The Marsh Shop (need to go there amazing shop) came though and I was quilting about 40 mins later. Great class met some very sweet quilters. Penny and Linda were delightful and generous. One woman and I got talking at lunch she was originally from Holland and we compared our thoughts of last year’s show. Then I told her about the graciousness and love that Jim and his dad experienced when they went to Holland a few years back. How they had stayed with a family of locally famous Olympic medal speed skaters, and all the people of the town felt Jim’s dad was the hero. Young people stopped them on the street to say hello and thank you. Made her cry, with national pride. The class project is almost complete. Karin was a delight.

Friday drove out to my $10 quilt class (not counting gas) One of the 20+ ladies in the class had invited me to stay on afterwards and attend the Sew Hungry Food Truck Extravaganza, look here for a quick video.
http://www.thespec.com/living/food/article/716874–sew-hungry-ottawa-street-food-truck-rally-goes-friday
Parking – scarce, weather – perfect, variety – amazing. From gourmet cupcakes (my choice red velvet with cream cheese icing) to pulled pork parfaits (gravy, pork, layered with mashed potatoes served in a parfait glass) to bacon donuts (sold out) my choice Gorilla Cheese. Was 50 minutes in line fortified by above mentioned cupcake worth it for a grilled cheese sandwich? Oh yes! But any food truck would have been good I am sure, everyone I spoke with had a delicious lunch. By the time we had our sandwiches the line was twice as big.

Finished up my entry for (http://colourfulroots.com/Products.html) Colourful Roots, they still need items pls see link. It was inspired by a piece Carolyn Flood had in the YHQG show. She graciously let me re produce it.

One thought on “Quilts of Denmark

Leave a Reply

